Sunshine Hooking in our New Digs

Finally! I remembered to take my camera to a Sunshine meeting, so I can share what my hooking friends are up to. As usual, there’s a wide variety of wonderful work underway.

DSCF7098

Jean is working on a Maude Lewis piece. I love those oxen…they have such personality.

DSCF7099

Our creative Cynthia, is hooking a “wonky” Christmas tree. She intends to cut it out and applique it to a blue silk background. She has used a  variety of materials as well as yarn to create the “bling”.

Gail is also hooking a “wonky” Christmas tree.DSCF7101

….this one quite large, and also using a variety of hand cut materials. The reds she  spread out to choose from are spectacular..DSCF7102

That hot pink is to die for!

Mary is creating a Christmas tree hot pad…I suspect it will be used before long.DSCF7110

Linda is also hooking a “hot pad”…(and I just now realized it should be rotated ….since the tea is actually being poured into the cup)….sorry Linda.DSCF7104Sitting beside her was  this amazing little bag she made to keep her tools in. The flowers are done in “Quilly” by rolling up strips, sewing through them for shape, then sewing them to the background, which is then hooked. Oh I wish I had more patience with creating “little things”.

DSCF7103

Speaking of “little things”, Cheri is creating more of her very popular “lady” necklaces. They are bought up as fast as she can make them.DSCF7113

Our other Gail is hooking colourful daisies…DSCF7105

Luise is finishing her little piece done in memory of Hilda Hayes (using Hilda’s wool)DSCF7123

….she’s also finishing up the wings of this beautiful 3-D angel.DSCF7124

Fiona is working on a piece she began at a workshop with Deanne Fitzpatrick….instructions were….draw something important to you, and draw it BIG.

DSCF7108

….so this is Fiona and her husband standing on their dock in front of the Green River (just started….green of course). It will have two borders…the second having a variety of wild flowers common in this area. I can’t wait to watch this wonderful piece develop.

Karen is creating this path to??? . I’m not sure if she will eventually tell us, or leave it to the imagination.DSCF7114

This musical piece is for Liz’s grandson in New Zealand.DSCF7126

Jeanne is working on the background of this piece which has all of her grandchildren’s names.

DSCF7109

Jeanne acquired this piece at a sale at RUG. It had been a  from a workshop on landscapes, and a bit of it was already hooked. Rather than end up with seven small pictures, she decided to hook the four seasons, plus an evening and morning sky, and dedicate it to her grandchildren in one large rug. I hope they don’t fight over who gets it.

Apparently this Hex symbol was supposed to be done in primary colours, but the hooker’s preference  was for more subtle tones..DSCF7111

Isabelle found her sweet primitive bunny on a sales table as well.DSCF7117

This exquisite Initial has Waldoboro work in the centre.DSCF7120

….and this geometric will become a colourful hall runner.DSCF7119

Edie continues with her floral rug…DSCF7122

….while others knit ….DSCF7121

DSCF7118DSCF7116DSCF7125

….and Judi was sorting worms.DSCF7112

All of this was happening at our wonderful new location….Rotary Place…..DSCF7136

….the windows on one side look out on…..DSCF7133

….that’s right….a hockey rink….and on the other side…DSCF7130

Yup! ….another hockey rink. Now what could be more Canadian than that!

6 thoughts on “Sunshine Hooking in our New Digs

  1. Delightful photos of the many lovely works in progress. It must be so wonderful to belong to one where you all get to share so much in person

  2. Great post as always. Your rug hooking blog really captures what rug hooking is all about. I love seeing the photos of the rugs and I also like the fact I know so many of the people too! Rug hooking is really a small world. I have hooked the daisy pattern that Gail is working on a couple of times; once when I was a rookie hooker in the early 1980’s and again around 2009 as I found one in a rug hooking trunk sale. I love it and the designer is Joan Boyle., a wonderful rug hooking teacher from Eastern Ontario, now retired. Karen Kaiser at ArtWorks is now selling some of Joan’s designs. They are amazing and although some are more than 30 years old her designs are still relevant today as they look good no matter whether they are hooked in a 3-cut which is what I did when I started rug hooking or a larger cut today. Keep these wonderful blog postings coming. I so enjoy reading them and I learn a lot from them.

    • Susan, Thanks so much for the info on Gail’s rug. I’m not sure where she got the pattern, but I’ll let her know what you’ve said. I would never have imagined it to be a 30 year old design. Aren’t “trunk sales” wonderful (wish I’d thought of that term when I was writing the blog). I think at least 5 of the pieces people were working on were acquired that way.

Leave a comment