Christmas coasters

Coasters and mug rugs make lovely little gifts, are quick to make, and are a great way to use up left over worms (the strips of wool left over from other projects). I gave these to my sister last Christmas.

Dscf2235

I originally drew the pattern for this flower for a yahoo rughookers swap, and hooked it in golds and yellows and oranges. Last Christmas, I used the same pattern, made colour changes and a few adjustments to turn it into a poinsettia. It’s not terribly accurate, but I think it looks “Christmasy” . The gold in the centre is done with french knots in embroidery floss. They are 5″ squares.

As I write this, I’m working on the water for my nature’s elements landscape. I’m not at all happy with the look of the water, but I’m pressing on hoping that when I finish it will look like a reflection of the sky….right now the water looks more like a wheat field!

Leave a Reply

