Fixing an eye and carrying on

I’m glad Ray isn’t one to take afternoon naps! My ‘hooking clutter’ on the bed is growing as I work on the ovals and circles in the background.

Dscf2735

Ever since I began hooking Adele, I’ve debated about what to do about the left eye (her right eye). Would I leave it? Would I change it? If so…how?

The final decision was made at my Sunshine rughooking meeting last Tuesday, when Cathy Smith pointed out that a human eye doesn’t show any white under the iris (unless looking way up). I decided to change it…I didn’t want her looking up with only one eye.

Dscf2611

Here’s the original eye

Dscf2609

What both first looked like

Dscf2644Dscf2644

This picture shows what the eyes looked like after I added the eyelids.

I took out the iris, the pupil, the white of the eye, and the black top line. I moved the black top line down and added another row of the lid colour, then re-hooked the eye. 

Dscf2732

New ‘left eye’

Dscf2733

Both eyes now…

I’m still in my ‘I’m not sure I like it’ phase….but I’m hoping that will pass!

Meanwhile I’m continuing with the ovals and circles.

Dscf2736
Dscf2739Dscf2739

Boy! It takes a lot longer to hook circles than any other shape!

15 thoughts on “Fixing an eye and carrying on

  1. The change to the eye makes a remarkable difference to the emotion of her face — a gentleness. This hooking is just getting more fabulous by the minute!!!

  2. I’m so glad you changed the eye! It was something that always caught MY eye, but now, she seems to have a soft, focused look ~ like she’s remembering something. Lovely improvement!!

  3. I’m glad I changed it too Lucy!….it took me awhile to decide…and I heard varying opinions about it….then I find I’m seldom satisfied with my work immediately after it’s completed….perhaps I get too close to it while I’m actually working on it.Elizabeth

  4. I have been following the progress on this lovely work of yours and I agree that the new eye is much better. She is pure loveliness…….Thank you so much for sharing your process with us. I appreciate, as a new rug hooker, seeing the process unfold as you make decisions about color, shading, everything. This is a gift for me as I reach the finish line on my first rug.

  5. Stoney…I’m learning too, by verbalizing my own processes.Sondra…there are several other areas that I’m pondering for change as well…things that bother me….I’ll record the changes when/if they happen. I think I’ll be sad to see her completed…I’ve enjoyed watching her develop.Elizabeth

  6. Hi Elizabeth, Your work is lovely. I do want to add to the discussion by urging you and others to look at photos of President Kennedy – white showing under the iris is much more common (and unnoticed) than generally thought. I particularly like the top of her dress.Ivi

  7. Ivi…The pictures of Kennedy I found had no white under the iris…however…many of those of Lincoln did…wondering if that was a slip (Kennedy for Lincoln)?

  8. <table cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" border="0" ><tr><td valign="top" style="font: inherit;"><BR>Good catch, Elizabeth!&nbsp; I realized that Lincoln had the white under his eyes while hooking the 200th birthday commemoration rug..&nbsp; This then made me look at all portrait photos differently.&nbsp; I’ve seen many where Kennedy’s whites show under the iris.&nbsp; Are you learning a ton while doing Adele?&nbsp; When hooking the Lincoln rug I researched color meaning and symbols of mourning and learned a great deal.&nbsp; Have a good day.<BR><BR> <BLOCKQUOTE style="BORDER-LEFT: rgb(16,16,255) 2px solid; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px"><BR>From: Posterous &lt;</td></tr></table>

  9. Ivi…I’m learning tons! That’s why I am enjoying doing it so much! By the way…I have never had the opportunity to see your Lincoln rug in person…but have admired pictures of it countless times…the watermarks are beyond description!Elizabeth

  10. <table cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" border="0" ><tr><td valign="top" style="font: inherit;">Thank you very much Elizabeth.&nbsp; It was a fun and rewarding experience.&nbsp; Right now I am turning over ways of mounting it – it’s become a long-term rug project.<BR><BR>—</td></tr></table>

  11. Elizabeth,Thank you for the lesson on the human eye. It really made a big difference with Adele, she’s looking great!~sMiLeS~Tammy

Leave a Reply

