Finished hooking…and moving on to proddy brooches

I have finished hooking Adele. Yesterday I steamed her before leaving for Toronto and a lovely Easter dinner with family.

Dscf2804

It’s been great fun trying to re-interpret a painting! (I couldn’t convince myself to give her those dark shadows under her eyes!)

Dscf2592

(well a small portion of a painting)

It took a couple of tries until I was satisfied with the side part of the choker.

Dscf2806

I ended up using the same ‘salt shaker’ wool in a 6 cut following the contours. Then decided to use the ‘shadow’ wool in between the rows. I scissor cut #6 strips down the middle to make it very narrow and liked that effect.

After tossing around various ideas….my plan now is to just turn the backing back….with no whipping or edging. I’m hoping that I can at the same time create a pocket using the excess linen backing so I can put a rod through it for hanging.  I’ve never done that, so tomorrow at Sunshine Rug hookers meeting…I’ll be looking for advice from those who use that form of finishing on a regular basis. 

Tomorrow is a special get together, we are going to be making proddy brooches. Our main fund raiser of the year is a Quilt and Rug craft fair held each September at the Simcoe County Museum. We always make and donate items for sale, as well as show rugs, and demonstrate hooking. This year we’re going to raffle a rug, and make porddy brooches for sale. I’ve done some proddy, but have never made a brooch…so this should be fun. The ones I’ve seen made  are just beautiful! 

Dscf2805

Today I’m putting away ‘Adele’ wool, and pulling out ideas for proddy brooches. I’ll take my camera tomorrow so I can get lots of pictures. 

13 thoughts on “Finished hooking…and moving on to proddy brooches

  1. Elizabeth ~ Adele would have been very proud of your intrepretation of her; for sure I would be. Exquisit artistic work and wonderful example of painting with wool.Saundra

  2. Elizabeth ~ Adele would have been very proud of your intrepretation of her; for sure I would be. Exquisit artistic work and wonderful example of painting with wool.Saundra

  3. Oh Saundra…thank you so much. What a lovely expression…. ‘painting with wool’ ….I have never. (and still don;t) think of myself as an artist, but it has been fun being a ‘copier’ in wool.

  4. Elizabeth, Adele is simply stunning–an elegant piece–and I’ve really enjoyed watching your process along the way. A few of us in the Campbellford group were talking about your blog when we met today and how much we were all enjoying it. We’ll look forward to the next instalment!jill in Ontario

  5. Jill…how gratifying that other hookers are enjoying my journey. It has really impressed on me what a wonderful group of people rug hookers are….always enthusiastic and so willing to give praise and encouragement. I am blessed to be a part of this community.

  6. Elizabeth ~ Your Adele is quite beautiful ~ you captured that photo perfectly! Will be anxious to see your proddy brooches ~ I just made some similar to that! Will check back ~ Thank you for sharing your beautiful rug!

  7. Hi Elizabeth, I have been away for a few days and just checked my email and saw the completed Adele. How beautiful she is and your Klimt interpretation is fantastic. It should now be called Adele by Martel!! Thank you for sharing your step by step thought process. It is so interesting to watch what you do and how you decide your choices. Your blog is an exceptionally fine one for rug hooking. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

