fixing and Barn Raising

The canoe pillow I’m doing for my friend has caused me no end of frustration this week. It seemed like such a simple project, but I’ve run up against a new problem. The picture Heather sent me has a decidedly straight  line background. I dyed a light mottled blue background, and hooked it in straight lines. BUT…even after steaming, in certain light, the lines are not exactly a uniform height, and I don’t like them.

Dscf4130

Last night I took out as many of the offending lines that I could find, and rehooked them ever so carefully. They looked fine in the dimmer evening light…but this morning, every slight variation seems to scream at me . I think I’ll give it one more try, and if I’m still not satisfied, I’ll rip out the entire background, and hook it in swirls. I’m told that the picture I’m copying is actually machine done…aha…no fair.

I also hooked my little 8″ x 8″ summer swap mat this week…but I can’t show it to you yet, as it’s supposed to be a surprise.

Have you heard about the Barn Raising Project?

The Huronia Branch of OHCG in cooperation with the Simcoe County Museum, is planning to curate a rug hooking exhibition celebrating the barns of Canada. Entry forms must be in to the museum by Oct 12, 2012, and the pieces submitted by Oct. 5, 2013. 

With this show in mind, Ray and I took a Sunday drive just north of town last November, looking for old barns.

It would have been prettier if we’d gone a month earlier…but somehow the November sky and bare trees add to the sadness of the ‘decaying’ barns.

 

Dscf3641

I love this sky, and would omit the house, and probably the metal shed on the right.

Dscf3647

This is the typical barn-shape in our area.

Dscf3649

This one doesn’t have as extensive a roof.

Dscf3640

This is the only building left standing on this deserted farm. The neighbour told me it was the slaughter house. The carcasses were hoisted up inside to ‘season’.

Dscf3667

I loved the covered entrance to this barn and winding drive.

Dscf3658

This barn has an interesting peeked roof. I got up close for some other shots. These two are my favourites.

Dscf3653
Dscf3654

I’ve looked at these pictures on and off all winter, and finally decided I’m going to try this one.

I’ve been dyeing a variety of greys and beiges to get a start.

Dscf4124

These are much lighter than they appear in the picture.

Dscf4128

Submitted pieces must be no larger than 24″ x 36″. I settled on 20″ x 26″, because that is the same proportion as the picture I printed  from my computer.

Dscf4129

Because it is mostly straight lines, I  think I may be able to draw it directly onto the linen.  This is a half size “try out” (10″ x 13″) ….I’m working on to see if I can do it. 

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

