Woops!

Sometimes I’m a little slow!

I happily completed the hooking on the footstool as it was drawn, then hung it up to look at it. 

Dscf4486

It was only after it was finished, and I was contemplating the sewing together, that I realized that when the sides came together,  the solid bottom border needed to match the number of rows in each section. 

Dscf4478

Yikes! Mine don’t match at all.

Dscf4487

Some have 4 rows at the edge, some 5 or 6.

Extending the coloured stripes down further would be my preference to make each edge the same number of rows,but I don’t have the wool to do that, so…. my next option is to extend the bottom border upwards on the smaller ones. 

That will be nip and tuck….and a royal pain

Dscf4479

….because I have hardly any wool left, and I’ll probably have to dye a few more pieces in order to have enough. I don’t mind dyeing substantial amounts, but I’m not so happy to dye a smidgeon.

When I have a major set back like this, I need to step back for a bit, and gain some perspective. Sooo….I began my fall swap mat. 

That’s just an 8″ x 8″ endeavour, but I’ve been thinking about it for some time. I wanted to do fall trees, something I’ve never attempted before.

I looked up lots of pictures on google, and stared at the colours and composition . I found a few hooked examples and carefully studied them as well.

Dscf4485

As it turns out, the trees were the easy part. I’m experimenting widely to try and get a ground cover that looks realistic, and implies the distance.

Dscf4488

These are supposed to be a secret until sent to the recipient, but my swap mate hasn’t responded to several ‘hello’ emails, so I assume she doesn’t surf the net frequently ( or is away, or doesn’t check her email)…..so I decided to share how I deal with a problem…..do something else for awhile while I ponder a solution!

4 thoughts on “Woops!

  1. Thanks Allyson…glad you like them. I have used the wool you sent me in it. It added a wonderful spark. Can you pick it out?

Leave a Reply

