R.U.G. Nov. 2012

Saturday was the semi annual gathering of R.U.G. It’s always a fun day….a chance to see lots of rug hooking friends, buy supplies, view lots of wonderful rugs and enjoy an interesting program, and this time, I remembered to take my camera! I don’t know who hooked most of these rugs, and they are only a small sampling of those that were shown.

Dscf4627

This was hooked by a lady from North Bay and is entitled “sweet landing”. The 3 dimentional bee alighting on the flower doesn’t show up well in the photo…but in person the work is stunning.

Dscf4628

I have tried braiding, (and failed)….I love it combined with hooking, but I sure don’t have the patience to do it. These mice seem to be teasing that cat.

Dscf4629

This is a first rug….can you imagine! It was created using only scraps of cut wool given the hooker by her teacher…..apparently she is an artist (not hard to tell is it, that sky is spectacular), and this is full of symbols from her life story. 

Dscf4630Dscf4630

A beautiful pillow hooked by Gail LeBarge

Dscf4631

There were 2 versions of this beautiful pattern, but I only managed to get a photo of one. The other was more monochromatic…done entirely in the monarch butterfiy colours.

Dscf4632

This is a very fine cut…an old pattern and soooo beautifully detailed. It’s not finished yet.

Dscf4633Dscf4633

How true a saying.

Dscf4636

A whimsical chairpad.

Dscf4637

I love the colour palette used for this wonderful pattern.

Dscf4639

This piece was framed in antique wood, and there was a great story to go with it….now if I could just remember what it was…(sigh).

Dscf4640

This is a story rug too…I just forget the story…..again.

Dscf4641

This is a picture of the hooker’s German Short Hair Pointer….a rescue dog named Smoke,,,hooked from a photo.

Dscf4642

Beautiful proddy pillow.

Dscf4644

The hooker designed this rooster…I love the colours!

Dscf4645…..and my stool was there too. I had to lug it in and out of the building and boy it’s heavy….that’s the last trip it goes on!! 

That’s just a taste of the rugs that were there. I got some wool, and a great buy on a pattern to make a pillow that will go well in my living room. Jennifer Manuell showed her photos from her trip to teach at Reeth in Yorkshire England. We were drooling over the beautiful countryside. A great way to finish a very enjoyable day. 

Leave a comment