An Unusual Guest

Tuesday we had our second work day to prepare items for sale and/or display at  the ploughing match this fall. Along with all the Sunshine Hookers, we had an extra guest present.

DSCF6220

Yes, it’s Sir John A. MacDonald himself! Isn’t he wonderful!. I’m not sure who had the idea to create him….I strongly suspect it was Linda Wilson. Luise Bishop hooked his head, and Linda and some others (sorry I should have found out exactly who) searched out the clothing and created the body. He is so life like it is eerie!. I kept looking over to the table to see who was sitting there. He will be appearing at a variety of events in the near future, including R.U.G., The Ploughing Match, the annual, and of course will play a large role in his own  200th birthday celebration next January. (Just a reminder for non- Canadians…Sir John A. MacDonald was the first Prime Minister of Canada)

He was created using this picture:

DSCF6223

 

My version of him is when he was older, and being a cartoon isn’t very flattering

His presence no doubt stirred us all on and here are pictures of the work being done for the ploughing match. Most are trivets, or mug rugs….although there are also many other items as well, which I’ll show in the next post.

DSCF6229

 

Linda’s cow makes me smile! DSCF6230

 

She is just now adding the warts to these beautiful pumpkins.DSCF6231

Liz has made trivets on a variety of subjects.

DSCF6234

I’d like a blue teapot like that!

DSCF6235

Jeanne is creating beautiful day lilies. She decided to “square out” the round corners.

DSCF6236

Edie is making this colourful maple leaf with some of her left over worms. She too has squared the corners.DSCF6237

Fiona’s cat is in the style of a particular person? artist? toy? (which she told me) and I have now totally forgotten. Sorry Fiona!DSCF6238

Diane is making a variety of geometric trivets and mug rugs.DSCF6239

This little cat is going to be so cute.

 

DSCF6241

 

I love the colours of the background for this sheep.DSCF6242

A colourful fall pumpkin in the works here.DSCF6243

Red abstract….love it….by Helen.DSCF6244

Helen’s spiral is now finished….great fall colours.

DSCF6245

Teresa has made 6 colourful  mug mats and has them ready to go in groups of 2.DSCF6248

This tractor hooked by Karen is the perfect trivet for a plowing match!

DSCF6249

I think this rooster is trying to wake someone up!

DSCF6250

I love the outline style of all three of Karen’s pieces…so simple and effective.

DSCF6256

Gail is doing a series of sunflower mug rugs. They will make a wonderful set.

I’ll save the rest for my next post, plus tell you about my struggles doing the script on My Sir John piece.

Yeah!!! It’s finally above freezing during the day. Still below freezing at night, so the maple syrup is running, and apparently will be a great harvest this year. Yum yum…pancakes coming up.

 

 

One thought on “An Unusual Guest

Leave a Reply

