My Creative Process

I know…I know….I was determined not to start anything new until I had done all the finishing on completed pieces. I didn’t mean to…..it just happened.

Well….sort of…..here’s what transpired. As I was whipping Lunenburg Harbour, I couldn’t help but think about what I might like to hook next, so I started clipping inspiration ideas for a large hall rug.

DSCF6595 DSCF6596Then the new Rug Hooking Magazine arrived, and while reading the article “Folklife Rugs”, I started sketching symbols of my life. DSCF6599

I didn’t like it at all.  It was very literal, and everything just plopped down, but I did like the concept, so I started looking for symbols.  I liked the treble clef in the centre, not because music is any longer the centre of my life, but because its shape allowed me to overlay the other items around it. Then I realized that celtic symbols did just that, so I started researching them. That led to symbols found in other cultures, and I eventually ended up with a variety which I felt were all significant to me.

DSCF6598

 

I replaced the treble clef in the centre with an african symbol for creativity which would allow me to “hang” the other symbols on its arms.

anan_lg

It’s a west African Adrinfa spider symbol called Anaise and denotes creativity and wisdom (but I’ll skip the wisdom part for me).

I drew several sketches which I either discarded or redrew.DSCF6602

A chain denotes friendship, but I couldn’t see a way to include one, so I searched other cultures for friendship symbols that I liked. I found the Maori Pikorua .

DSCF6601

(sorry it’s so fuzzy)

Married love and fidelity doesn’t seem to have been a high priority with “symbol makers” but eventually I found this lovely one…DSCF6600

 

After many tries, and thanks to a great eraser, I came up with a design I was satisfied with, then took it to the local “Copy Shop” and had it blown up to 36″ long.

DSCF6561 ……drew it on “red dot” then transferred it to my backing.

DSCF6583….male symbols for my three sons

DSCF6585

….peace in my soul, my life and my family….

DSCF6584

….marital love and fidelity….DSCF6588

…..happiness….DSCF6590

…..friendshipDSCF6587……….motherhood….and scattered throughout….the tears of sorrow and loss and grief….(the treble clef I dropped to the bottom to anchor the whole design.

At the same time I had no idea about a colour plan that might work. I just felt I’d know what it was when I saw it. (and I’m still not certain that what I have so far is what I’ll end up with).

I liked this photoDSCF6604oops fuzzy again….so I decided to try dip dyes.

This colour scheme caught my eye a few days ago. I think it’s done by Donna DiPalma and I ran across it on The Welcome Mat.DSCF6605

I got out the Jewel Tones swatches and came up with this….DSCF6606

….so yesterday I started dyeing a few samples and got these…..DSCF6572

…..which of course I had to try last night….

DSCF6569

It’s called “Signa Meus Vita”….the symbols of my life.

I will get back to the finishing…..just not sure when…..

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “My Creative Process

  1. Brilliant…..I envy your creative talent and one day hope to try something like this. I love the colours you’ve chosen.

  2. WOW, you’ve an extraordinarily creative mind that achieves great results. KUDOS. Can’t wait to see this work of art completed. A fantastic learning experience you shared with all of us.

    Saundra

  3. You will have us all checking in with you regularly to see how this wonderful design develops. It’s beautiful, intricate and meaningful. The ‘tears’ add a poignancy to the whole piece.
    jill in Ontario

  4. Thank you for sharing your beautiful pattern and how it developed. I enjoyed hearing about your life.
    Janine
    Beaverton, OR

Leave a Reply

