My Path of Creativity

My creative process is like a path leading to……I don’t know where.  It generally starts with a vague recollection of something I have seen and admired and wished I had hooked. This time it was a head shot of an exotic person…I remember a few that have taken my breath away, and I wanted to try something similar. My search for inspiration began.

Who could be more inspiring than Malala Yousafzai.

DSCF6917

 

I loved the colour of the sari, and those eyes are so arresting.  With Ray’s help, I “gridded” the picture so that I could draw it 3 times larger for hooking 20″ x 28″.

But then for some reason, the idea of mystery and perhaps feminine subjucation became important, so I searched further, and came up with this .

hijab_thumbnail

What a wonderful background as well. Once again Ray drew a grid for me so that I could draw it to the size 18″ x 24″

DSCF6927

I put the photo in “Be Funky” editing program and using the ‘underpainting’ option, and now have this photo to use as a reference as I hook.

BeFunky_Underpainting_242.jpg

 

I can’t wait to get started….lots of dyeing in my immediate future….that rich vibrant red…..how to achieve that striking aura, and the delicious background.

Then the idea of a series ” women from around the world” came to me when I stumbled on this photo and immediately fell in love with it. A totally different style and idea, but it really speaks to me as well, and I plan to hook it in some adapted form.

DSCF6932

 

I’ve been browsing photos of Chinese wedding headdresses and the costumes of women in Brittany….the options are endless.    Now if I could just hook 24 hours a day….I’d be set!

The reality is that I still haven’t quite finished the background of the grafitti.

DSCF6936

….and although I’ve steamed the padded binding of Signa Meus Vita, I still have to sew on the tabs (they are just pinned on in the photo.

DSCF6937…..and oh my!!! if you could see my work area! A major tidy and organization of all the wool scattered about is an absolute necessity before I start anything!

As the cold weather arrives, I always experience a “nesting” instinct, where I love the cosy refuge of home. The trees have passed their prime (although there’s still lots of colour to be seen) and we have had frost (although not yet a killing frost) so I am preparing to “snuggle in” and enjoy the delights of the upcoming winter.

2 thoughts on “My Path of Creativity

  1. Hi Elizabeth
    Love your blog – enjoyed hearing about your workshop with Jennifer Manuel. Today’s blog rings true with me as I did a series of Afghani women about a year ago. I used photos from a friend who is in the military and was stationed in Afghanistan for a couple of tours. If you are interested in seeing what I did you can go to my blog easily by Googling the words patricia winans designs I used white nylon stockings that I dyed for some of the ladies, cut velvet and other nice fabrics for their clothes.
    I am originally from Toronto and Barrie – have lived in Riverview, New Brunswick since 1962 and am really settled in here.

  2. As always Elizabeth great to read your thought processes and see were your hooking travels are leading to – look forward very much to seeing them develope. Thank you

Leave a Reply

