I’ve Done It Again

I While I admire  the primitive hooking of others, it seems I am not capable of doing it myself.  I realized this when I was hooking the Magdelena Briner inspired ‘dog memory rugs’ for my sons.DSCF5290

DSCF6383
 I seem compelled to add more detail than is required for the primitive style, and my work ends up only “primitive-ish”  ….but somehow I forgot. I blithely started hooking away on the rabbit challenge rug, once again intending it to be primitive, and once again missing the mark . DSCF7146

When I got to this point, I stopped. I liked it less and less as I went along, and finally realized if I left it the way it was, I’d never even finish it. It wasn’t primitive, the lettering wasn’t going to show up against the bunny, and he looked as if he had a serious fur disease and a bad case of hypertension with bulging eyes that threatened to pop out of his head.

Some serious ripping out followed., and a different coloured bunny emerged.DSCF7162

I didn’t have enough browns to do his whole body, so I dressed him up with a jacket.

I learn something new with every piece I hook, and this jacket was my “aha” moment. Here’s the sequence of events.  I was searching for wool that would go with the spot dye I was using for the eggs. I settled on yellow, but the only colour I had enough of was a solidly dyed piece of very bright vibrant yellow. It was too “in your face” and wouldn’t work, so I grabbed all the bits and pieces of paler yellows as well and just started mixing them all together. Much to my surprise, from a distance it looks like a more subdued yellow with a variety of highlights….(note to self….remember this for future reference).

DSCF7170

It’s certainly not my favourite piece, but fun to hook and a relaxing break before I tackle the zentangle Grumpy Owl, which I anticipate will be a major undertaking.  The figure itself is 25″ tall but I haven’t yet decided on the outside measurements. I’ve been tracing over the outline to make it easier to see when I set it up on the light table. I can’t wait to get started on it.DSCF7172

A very happy New Year to all my internet friends. You enrich my life on a daily basis.  I wish you health and contentment in 2015 and a productive year of hooking what you love.

Thanks for stopping by.

4 thoughts on “I’ve Done It Again

  1. I also have not been able to hook what is the general traits suggested for primitive rugs, but then that is why we are all so unique – we take elements we do like and make them our own. I love your very subtle renditions of the two dog rugs. I am loving your version of the rabbit and the colours you are using, plus your lettering and the eggs. Superb. I think grumpy owl looks like another great project in the making and look forward to seeing your works which are always informative and inspiring. Thank you Eliabeth. Have a great 2015

  2. I liked your dogs even with the details. Still looks primitive to me. My attempts at primitive style end up looking like folk art so I guess it’s not my style either. Vivien

  3. Who says that primitive can only be one person’s style. I LOVE your dog rugs. And your bunny one is very special. Love the dip dye around the border. Love his very sweet character face and his fun jacket, which is much better for seeing the lettering – the true essence of the rug, right? Every loop you pull takes you somewhere. And your destinations are always incredible!!! Happy New Year Elizabeth. xoxox

Leave a Reply

