Looking Backward and Foreward

Happy New Year to everyone. It’s that time to reflect on the past, and make plans (dare I say resolutions) for the new year. So I decided to review just what I had hooked in 2015.

I completed several rugs. Hijab……for the Women’s Day Art Show….DSCF7260

Creating Hijab was fun and interesting, (that’s a shadow across the top not a stain).  DSCF6994

I learned a lot in creating the red scarf with just three different shades of  mottled wool.

DSCF7186

This little bunny which was hooked in a challenge. It is not quite finished here. I’ve never liked it , so perhaps that’s why I can’t find a shot of the completed rug.

I hooked this little seascape using wool which was distributed amongst the Sunshine Rug Hookers from the stash of the late Hilda Hayes. We each hooked something which reminded us in some way of Hilda.She and her family came from England in the late sixties, and I thought this serene English seaside sunset was appropriate. DSCF7481It is now framed and hanging in my front hall.

I was hooking zentangles for awhile for our group demonstration at R.U.G. and this one is now whipped and  sits atop my hall table.DSCF7480I completed a number of small projects….DSCF7477

…..like these pins for my DIL

….and these mug rugs for various relatives  and friends…DSCN0064DSCN0061DSCN0062

DSCN0248DSCN0249DSCN0250DSCN0251

I whipped the edge of my Lunenburg rug…..DSCN0209….so it is finally complete….

I have my two “workshop pieces ”  underway but not completed….DSCN0164DSCN0163

(actually they are both farther along than this, but my camera has once again stopped uploading pictures  GRRRRRRR!!!)

The largest project, which I’ve been working on all year, is Grumpy Owl. DSCN0009Since this photo was taken, I’ve finished the background and done some reworking of the moon.DSCN0263….it is whiter, with more clouds and fewer “squiggles”and there may well be further adjustments to it.

So that was 2015.

Now for 2016, I’m ready to get back to working on my sweet Grumpy Owl and to finish it as my first project of the  year.

As for a New Year’s hooking resolution?  It is to  hook without pressured deadlines and to enjoy every loop I pull. Let’s see if I can keep this one.

Thanks for stopping by.

6 thoughts on “Looking Backward and Foreward

  1. As every joy to see some new and some revisiting pieces. Always informative, superb and so enjoy. Thank you Elizabeth.

  2. Wonderful review of what you hooked in 2015. Your design and colour sense and your hooking are fantastic. Thank you for an excellent blog on rug hooking. All the best for 2016. I look forward to reading about your next challenges.

  3. Such beautiful pieces! 🙂 The Hijab rug and Lunenburg rug are my favorites. There is so much variety in your work, it’s amazing to see how far you’ve progressed in each project.

  4. The work is awesome, particularly there is one called ‘ Bossie’s Barn’ Cantic Quebec.
    My family and many friends grew up in Cantic during summer months. Could you please if possible tell us who did this great rug. We are having a reunion this summer and everyone is really happy and excited about it. I appreciate your help. Maureen (Moe)

Leave a Reply

