Abstract Progress

With lots of curling on TV these days, I’ve been snuggled up hooking on my big rug and cheering for my favourite teams. dscn1036At last I’ve come up with motives that I like for the bottom left hand side of my rug and I’m finally pleased with the overall look of the pattern…..not repeating, not symmetrical, but balanced and satisfactory to my eyes.dscn1039I like that the bottom flame motif now sweeps upward and blends toward the upper section.dscn1040….and the brilliant blue in this section has some interest and motion. Whew!! I’m satisfied at last. Now just a few more details to add and then the background to complete. I’ll need to have one more large dyeing session to get enough deep blue to finish it.dscn1035It’s difficult to get a decent photo of the whole rug, but here is at least an idea of what the whole thing looks like. What a learning experience this has been.

Some notes to myself for possible future reference:

1.) Rhodamine Red (pro chem) is both nasty and tricky to dye with. To get the deep colour took three attempts, and I still had to rinse forever to finally get the water to run clear. HOWEVER the end result is stunning if you want an VERY vibrant pink that will pop out. (the photos don’t do it justice)

2. The use of a vibrant and a dull in juxtaposition (rhodamine red and strawberry in this case) is restful to my eyes.

3.) Using an echo background  augments the eye movement created by the pattern.

4.) Never again hook a large rug by joining two pieces of backing…the money saved is not worth the difficulties it creates. (always fighting with the fraying of the overlap showing through)

The finishing will be a new adventure as well. Ray has built a new work table for me so that I can spread it out flat and secure it in order to steam it accurately to size. I don’t have a proper steamer, so my trusty iron will get an extensive workout. Then dyeing the wool to whip the edge will be the last step.

I think my next project will measure about 10″ x 12″.

Thanks for stopping by.

4 thoughts on “Abstract Progress

  1. Beautiful work! Just wondering… how would you do such a wide piece again if you didn’t sew two pieces of backing together? I belong to the Edmonton Guild and I’ve never seen backing that was 5 feet wide?!

    • Hi Brenda. Apparently extra wide backing is available from the States, but the cost plus exchange plus shipping made me choose to do this rug by joining two pieces. If I was doing it again and was joining two pieces of backing, I’d try and figure out a good way to keep the overlap on the finished side from fraying. That has been the annoyance for me. Little pieces keep peeping up through the hooking . With a 2″ overlap there is no problem with it separating, so I might very carefully use white glue along the edge to keep the fraying at bay. I’d do a test piece first though to make sure it was still “hookable.”

Leave a Reply

