Floating Blocks Progress

DSCN1132 2Isn’t “Hit and Miss” a misnomer ? I don’t know of anyone who actually hooked one by blindly sticking their hand in the bag, grabbing a strip and hooking whatever colour came out. However this rug IS being entirely hooked with leftover small bits and pieces so I think it qualifies as “Hit and Miss” and I’m having lots of fun with the creation of each block.DSCN1129I began by hooking all the large squares in the foreground in reds and yellows. …decided that the additional colours would be blue, blue/green and yellow/green and  was amazed that I was able to come up with a good sized bag of leftovers of each!

I decided on the placement of the colours as I went along….trying to make sure they were evenly distributed and balanced throughout.DSCN1133As you can see…I made some changes as I went along….and even in this photo…I need to change one of the B-G’s (blue/greens) on the left since I realize that I do not have  a blue along the outside left edge.

A note for newbies who may be viewing this….Hookers work from foreground to background….(as opposed to painters who can layer on top) and this rug makes it really apparent why.  As I work down layer by layer, it is easy to keep the squares even and straight but it would be impossible the other way. By mistake the other evening, I started hooking one square that had an edge overlapping it. Being too lazy to rip it out and start a different one, I had to leave a bit extra on each strip at that edge so I could finish it properly after the top square is hooked, which will be fiddly and time consuming. (You can see the tag ends on the red block in the middle below.)DSCN1131So this is my progress to date.

In preparation for hooking the background, I’ve gathered up all my bits and pieces of light neutrals (beiges, sands and greys) . I’m still trying to decide if I will hook them as is, or marry the colours in a large stew pot so they are closer in colour. At the moment I’m leaning to the latter.

If I didn’t live in a household with two cats and a dog, I’d think seriously of creams for the background since I love the vibrant colours against the white backing. Too many mucky paws in my house for that to work though.

Thanks for stopping by.

4 thoughts on “Floating Blocks Progress

  1. Elizabeth, in your photos the squares definitely look layered. Good for you. Do you ever do anything SMALL?

  2. Maybe I instead of hit or miss it could be called This and That or some clever name . I do agree with you though Elizabeth , I never just pick random colours and I love how something beautiful is created from ‘left overs’. This rug is like all your work. A thing of beauty

  3. Looks great, Elizabeth. Can hardly wait til it is finished and see the effects. Sandra arrived yesterday after taking Porter from Q. City to TO and then the GO to Barrie. Going to Bradford Greenhouse this morning and then see mom this aft. Mom has been quite confused the past couple of days and wondering how she is going to get home, where dad is etc. All very difficult to witness as you well know. We will celebrate her 94th tomorrow and my cousin from TO is joining us. Take care.Jean 

    From: Sunshine Rughooking To: kjchabot@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, April 24, 2017 1:24 PM Subject: [New post] Floating Blocks Progress #yiv3587613165 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3587613165 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3587613165 a.yiv3587613165primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3587613165 a.yiv3587613165primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3587613165 a.yiv3587613165primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3587613165 a.yiv3587613165primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3587613165 WordPress.com | elizabethmartel posted: “Isn’t “Hit and Miss” a misnomer ? I don’t know of anyone who actually hooked one by blindly sticking their hand in the bag, grabbing a strip and hooking whatever colour came out. However this rug IS being entirely hooked with leftover small bits and piece” | |

Leave a Reply

