Creating the Background

While having coffee with a friend recently, for some reason we got chatting about thinking processes. She mentioned that she is a logical thinker, going from step to step to come to a final conclusion….and how it was sometimes difficult for her to remember that that is not how everyone thinks….aha! and that would be ME! As I think and plan, my mind goes off in a multitude of directions with a wide variety of possibilities, which I then must sort through for pros and cons to come to a “best” solution. It has taken me a long time to realize that My way is OK too…it’s not disorganized….it’s multi organized. Being as well, a visual learner, I often need to “see” the results before making a final decision. DSCN1182….and so it is with the background of Floating Blocks. This is my stack of “married” light neutrals. ….and the first few areas hooked in….DSCN1272After several tries, I decided that I liked the lighter colours ,with just the odd darker piece, using fairly short strips and changing colours frequently.

With that decision, filling in the interior spaces was uneventful, easy hooking.DSCN1282Next decision…..hooking all around the edges….If I kept using the lightest colours only, I knew I wouldn’t have enough wool. I needed to make use of the darker wool as well. It still needed to “go with” the interior spaces. I decided to have some rows of darker wool around the outside and then blend it lighter as it neared the interior. DSCN1278I liked that effect, and dug through the strips each time to find just the right colour….. making progress quite slow. Since I was blending the tones, it finally dawned on me to sort the strips into dark, medium, and light to make it much quicker to find just the right strip each time. DSCN1275…..ah….so much easier and quicker now.DSCN1280I can see my way to the end now…all the way around, with enough wool, and an edge colour which  grounds the rug as well as one which I can more easily replicate with yarn for whipping the outside.

I eventually get there, but my path is definitely neither straight nor step by step.  I’m happy with my way. Mind you that still leaves me wishing my junk drawer was more like Sandi’s….totally organized with everything in its place. …but there’s no hope of that happening any time soon!

Thanks for stopping by.

 

8 thoughts on “Creating the Background

  1. You are definitely one of the most “thoughtful” hookers I have ever met. And it is reflected in every piece you hook. I think the hooking world is far more interesting with diverse approaches to the work. BTW, I just LOVE how these blocks do totally float. Awesome job. And your background is perfect!

    • Thanks so much Wendie. I’ve sometimes been told I overthink, but I always try to please myself with my results when I hook. For me that means searching for a solution I’m happy with. The wide diversity of hooking styles now is what makes hooking such an exciting world to be a part of. (glad they float for you)

  2. Oh, elizabeth,,! So love this mat!! Liked it at r.u.g. but now with background in,, its awesome, , awesome, ,,,, just love how u have done it!!!
    Thanks for sharing ur stories,,, just wonderful,,,,,

  3. Awesome and I am encouraged that my thought processes are akin to yours. Must be the visual aspect. I need to try in order to decide. Thank you for posting this.

Leave a Reply

