Hooking Those Last Little Bits

Even with the most straightforward hooking, there are those tricky little bits to solve.  DSCN1292 2

….such as ending up with a space that doesn’t fit the strip width….requiring a search for a little fatter or skinnier strip to fill the space properly or cutting a specialized strip to fit. In this case, both strips were removed and….DSCN1293

…fatter ones used to nicely fill the space.  I often leave my cutter making slightly different strip sizes to allow for this sort of “fix”. Although not readily apparent, the ‘fill’ strips here are slightly wider than the rest.

As I neared completing the background and was looking over the final results, I was bothered by this spot…DSCN1289The yellow block ran into the darker edge colour. Throughout the piece, I had tried to highlight the blocks by having a light colour around their edges. I knew if I left it, my eye would always be drawn to that spot and it would bug me.DSCN1297

A simple fix using a lighter grey.  (….wasn’t I lucky that that coffee spill landed harmlessly on the waste backing at the edge!)DSCN1301 2The hooking is complete. Next step…..steaming….DSCN1304I love it  when I flip that freshly steamed rug over and see the completed and steamed work for the first time. DSCN1303I’ll just enjoy it for a few days while I dye my yarn for whipping and gather up the nerve to once again open up my poor neglected sewing machine and zigzag the edges.

Happy Canada Day tomorrow to all my fellow Canadians. A big party is in store for our 150th.

Thanks for stopping by.

4 thoughts on “Hooking Those Last Little Bits

  1. Oh my,,, love this mat, elisabeth,,,,, wow,,, glad I got to see it in real life, too,,,,
    Just so fun,,, thanks so much for sharing,,,

  2. Just love the colors and pattern! My grandmother hooked rugs; as does a dear friend. This is inspiration to perhaps try my hand at this amazing fiber art sometime. Thank you for sharing your art and your generosity for sharing a tip to make a piece better!

Leave a Reply

